Posts

Showing posts from January, 2015

The Forgetting Release Day Celebration!

Image
THE FORGETTING
Release Day Celebration Hosted by MMSAI Tours
February 3, 2015
ABOUT THE BOOK:

The Forgetting Author: Nicole Maggi Release Date: 2/3/15 Publisher: SourceBooks Fire
SYNOPSIS:

Georgie's new heart saved her life...but now she's losing her mind.
Georgie Kendrick wakes up after a heart transplant, but the organ beating in her chest doesn't seem to be in tune with the rest of her body. Why does she have a sudden urge for strawberries when she's been allergic for years? Why can't she remember last Christmas?
Driven to find her donor, Georgie discovers her heart belonged to a girl her own age who fell out of the foster care system and into a rough life on the streets. Everyone thinks she committed suicide, but Georgie is compelled to find the truth - before she loses herself completely.


BOOK LINKS
Amazon  | B&N | Kobo | Goodreads
PRAISE FOR THE FORGGETTING:
"[T]his story is a powerful call to action. Yet even with its obvious motivation, it is never preachy. Str…

Feature & Follow Friday

Image
Feature & Follow is a weekly Friday meme hosted by Parajunkee's View and Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it’ll allow us to show off more new blogs! 
I'd love it if you followed me through GFC and Bloglovin' and of course I'll make sure to stop by your blog and do the same!
This weeks question:
Hard print (real thing) or Kindle/Nook, which is your favorite?
If we're talking about favorite's then definitely hard print! They just look so pretty on my  book shelf (and hands) but I do read ebooks. Especially if I'm not sure if I'll love the book, I tend to buy the ebook first and see how it goes but hard print's will always be my favorite.
Thanks for stopping by!


Save Me by Jenny Elliott (ARC) ~ Short DNF Review

Image
Goodreads | Amazon
Publisher: Swoon Reads Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Paranormal, Fantasy Release Date: January 6, 2015 Pages: 309
Goodreads Summary
Debut-novelist Jenny Elliott’s thrilling romance, chosen by readers, writers, and publishers for the first list in the new Swoon Reads imprint, pours on the tension and danger in an addictive combination that will keep you turning pages!
Something strange is going on in the tiny coastal town of Liberty, Oregon. Cara has never seen a whale swim close enough for her to touch it—let alone knock her into the freezing water. Fortunately, cute newcomer David is there to save her, and the rescue leads to a bond deeper than Cara ever imagined.

But then she learns something about David that changes everything, and Cara is devastated. She turns to her best friend for support, but Rachel has changed. She’s suddenly into witchcraft, and is becoming dangerously obsessed with her new boyfriend….

Cara has lost her best friend, discovered that her …

Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award

Image
I've been nominated for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award! I was nominated by Paranoid Puppet @ The Inside Mind of a Paranoid Puppet and Michelle @ Michelle's Minions. Thank you so much! You guys are amazing and so are your blogs! You should definitely check their blogs out!

Here are the rules for the The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award:

1. Thank the blogger that nominated you, and link back to their site.
2. Post the award's logo onto your blog. 
3. Answer the 10 questions you've been asked.
4. Nominate 10 other bloggers and ask them 10 questions.

These are the rules but since I've been nominated by two bloggers I decided to change it a little. Since each blogger asked me ten questions I won't be doing all twenty because then that'll be a pretty long post so instead I'll pick five questions from each of them and then answer them! ;)

Questions asked by Paranoid Puppet

1. What's your favorite book and why?


BOOK!! Your asking what's my fav…

Waiting on Wednesday: Spelled by Betsy Schow

Image
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
This weeks book that I'm desperate to get my hands on:

Publication: June 2, 2015
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance
Goodreads Summary
Fairy Tale Survival Rule #32: If you find yourself at the mercy of a wicked witch, sing a romantic ballad and wait for your Prince Charming to save the day.

Yeah, no thanks. Dorthea is completely princed out. Sure being the crown princess of Emerald has its perks—like Glenda Original ball gowns and Hans Christian Louboutin heels. But a forced marriage to the brooding prince Kato is so not what Dorthea had in mind for her enchanted future.

Talk about unhappily ever after. 

Trying to fix her prince problem by wishing on a (cursed) star royally backfires, leaving the kingdom in chaos and her parents stuck in some place called "Kansas." Now it's up to Dorthea and her pixed off prince to find the mysterious W…

Hidden Agenda (Southern Crimes #3) by Lisa Harris Review

Image
Goodreads | Amazon
Genre: Suspense, Christian, Romance, Death
Series: Southern Crimes #3 Publisher: Fleming H. Revell Company Genre: Suspense, Christian, Romance, Death  Release: Date: January 1, 2015 Pages: 305
Goodreads Summary
Michael Hunt is alive--and on the run. Presumed dead by friends and family, the undercover assignment he's been working for the past eight months has just been blown. With a hit out on his life and corruption inside the Atlanta police department, Michael finds himself hunted by both the cartel and the law. His only hope is the daughter of the man who wants him dead.
This nonstop chase from taut suspense writer Lisa Harris will leave readers breathless as they race to connect the dots before it's too late.

My Review
I received this book through Revell Reads in exchange for an honest review.
Michael is an undercover cop who is in danger of being killed after his identity is revealed to the criminals he was hunting down. Now not only does he have the cartel after hi…

Stacking the Shelves # 6

Image
Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews and is all about sharing the books you’re adding to your shelves be it in virtual form or physical. You can include books you’ve won, bought, borrowed from the library or review books.


Hey, guys! I know its been awhile since I posted an STS but I decided to post one just once a month now since I felt like it would be better to just gather all the books I've gotten in one post. So here goes!
In the month of January I got.....
Bought
Everneath (Everneath # 1) by Brodi Ashton Ruby Red ( Precious Stone Trilogy # 1)  by Kerstin Gier Olivia Twisted  by Vivi Barnes Glow (Sky Chasers # 1)  by Amy Kathleen Ryan Of Beast and Beauty  by Stacey Jay Possess by Gretchen McNeil
I've been literally frothing at the mouth for Ruby Red and Of Beast and Beauty, so as soon as I saw them I couldn't resist. Plus their covers are just too beautiful and they deserve to be in my hands. (At least that's what I told myself.) As for the others I've …

Feature & Follow Friday

Image
Feature & Follow is a weekly Friday meme hosted by Parajunkee's View and Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it’ll allow us to show off more new blogs! 
I'd love it if you followed me through GFC and Bloglovin' and of course I'll make sure to stop by your blog and do the same!
This weeks question:
Do you post your reviews anywhere besides your blog? Where else do you post reviews?

I normally just post my reviews on my blog, Goodreads, and Amazon but I plan on posting them on other websites. I still need to make a Netgalley account, I've heard about that website a lot. Probably in the near future....

Waiting on Wednesday: The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight # 1) by Melissa Grey

Image
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
This weeks book that I'm desperate to get my hands on:

Publication: April 28, 2015
Genre: YA, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
Goodreads Summary
For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it'…

Emissary (Legends of the Realm #1) by Thomas Locke

Image
Goodreads | Amazon
Series: Legends of the Realm #1 Publisher: Fleming H. Revell Company Genre: Young Adult, Adventure, Fantasy, Christian Fiction Release Date: January 6, 2015 Pages: 385
Goodreads Summary
Hyam is a likeable lad who will make a fine farmer someday. But he carries a burden few can fathom. As his mother slips toward death, she implores him to return to Long Hall, where he spent five years as an apprentice. It was there that Hyam's extraordinary capacity for mastering languages came to light--and soon cast him into the shadows of suspicion. How could any human learn the forbidden tongues with such ease? When Hyam dares to seek out the Mistress of the Sorceries, her revelation tears his world asunder.
He has no choice but to set out on the foreboding path--which beckons him to either his destiny or his doom. An encounter with an enchanting stranger reminds him that he is part hero and part captive. As Hyam struggles to interpret the omens and symbols, he is swept up by a great…

Birth of a Destiny (Light Bearer #1) by T.R. Milne Review ~ Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway

Image
Book Title: Birth of a Destiny (Light Bearer #1) by T.R. Milne

Genre: YA Fantasy/Adventure

About the book:
Evil stalks her. True love finds her. Destiny claims her. Rose wakes from a coma to find her life has changed forever. Her parents were killed in the accident that nearly claimed her life. Now orphaned, her mother’s sister brings her to live in the country with her cousins, who quickly make their resentment known. Once courageous and full of life, she only wants to be left alone to wallow in the murky shades of grief. Yet, evil stalks her dreams, and fate moves her towards her destiny. Ghostly meetings, attacks under the cloak of storms, and a threatening dark presence brings danger and adventure to Rose, her cousin and new friend. Her special abilities, known to no one, must remain a secret – somehow. The trio uncover a portal that takes them to a magical kingdom threatened by an evil creature thirsting for eternal darkness. Only one can stop him . . . Already heart-broken after th…